2021 America East Conference Tournament Info, Facts, & Preview Links


Saturday, Feb. 27, 2021

First Round (Pod Play-at #3 & #4 seeds campus sites)

Game 1: (7) Stony Brook (9-13 overall; 7-9 conf) vs. (6) UMass Lowell (8-11 overall; 7-8 conf) at 1 p.m. ET (Durham, NH) (ESPN+)


Game 2: (9) Binghamton (4-13 overall; 4-10 conf) at (4) Hartford (11-8 overall; 8-6 conf) at 2 p.m. ET (ESPN+)


Game 3: (8) NJIT (7-11 overall; 6-10 conf) at (5) Albany (6-8 overall; 6-6 conf) at 5 p.m. ET (West Hartford, CT) (ESPN+)


Sunday, February 28, 2021

Second Round (Pod Play-at #3 & #4 seeds campus sites)

Game 4: (7) Stony Brook/(6) UMass Lowell winner at (3) New Hampshire (10-8 overall; 9-6 conf) at 1 p.m. ET (ESPN+)


Game 5: (8) NJIT/(5) Albany winner vs./at (9) Binghamton/(4) Hartford winner at 3 p.m. ET (West Hartford, CT) (ESPN+)


Saturday, March 6, 2021

Semifinals (at #1 & #2 seeds campus sites)

Game 6: Lowest-Remaining Seed at (1) UMBC (14-5 overall; 10-4 conf) at 2 p.m. ET (ESPN3/ESPN+)


Game 7: Highest-Remaining Seed at (2) Vermont (10-4 overall; 10-4 conf) at 4 p.m. ET (ESPN3/ESPN+)


Saturday, March 13, 2021

Championship Game-(at highest remaining seed)

Game 11: Championship Game (Auto Bid) at 11 a.m. ET (ESPN2)



Tournament Winners (last 10 years):

2020: Cancelled due to scourge known as COVID

2019: (1) Vermont (27-7 overall; 14-2 conf)

2018: (2) UMBC (25-11 overall; 12-4 conf)

2017: (1) Vermont (29-6 overall; 16-0 conf)

2016: (1) Stony Brook (26-7 overall; 14-2 conf)

2015: (1) Albany (24-9 overall; 15-1 conf)

2014: (4) Albany (19-15 overall; 9-7 conf)

2013: (4) Albany (24-11 overall; 9-7 conf)

2012: (2) Vermont (24-12 overall; 13-3 conf)

2011: (2) Boston U. (21-14 overall; 12-4 conf)



NET ratings through games of 2/25/21 (347 teams)

Vermont-100

UMBC-126

Hartford-196

Albany-212

UMass Lowell-219

Stony Brook-224

New Hampshire-241

NJIT-261

Binghamton-292

Maine-301 (ended season early due to COVID issues; finished 2-7, 2-6 in conference)


Kenpom ratings as of 2/25/21

Vermont-119

UMBC-161

Hartford-224

Stony Brook-229

UMass Lowell-235

Albany-237

New Hampshire-261

NJIT-288

Binghamton-317

Maine-344 (ended season early due to COVID issues; finished 2-7, 2-6 in conference)


Here are some links for previews of the 2021 America East Conference tournament and the official tournament championship page (in no particular order):


America East Conference official tournament championship page (with 3+ minute video preview): https://americaeast.com/tournaments/?id=3261


NBC Sports Washington preview link: https://www.nbcsports.com/washington/ncaa/america-east-tournament-2021-bracket-how-watch-dates-preview-location


Fansided/Busting Brackets preview link: https://bustingbrackets.com/2021/02/25/america-east-basketball-2021-conference-tournament-preview-predictions/


Mid-Major Madness preview link (very enjoyable preview imo): https://www.midmajormadness.com/2021/2/22/22294479/america-east-aeplayoffs-bracket-streaming-info-umbc-vermont-basketball-2021


Sports Betting Dime preview link: https://www.sportsbettingdime.com/news/ncaab/2021-america-east-conference-tournament-odds-bracket-picks/


Three-man-weave preview link: https://www.three-man-weave.com/3mw/america-east-tournament-preview-2021


My brief take on this tournament: It seems obvious to most everyone that this should come down to Vermont vs. UMBC in the title game. It always seems like when that is the case, it does NOT happen. My guess is one team gets upset and the one that does not get upset in the semis wins the auto bid. As to which one, I have no idea. I honestly didn't watch much America East basketball this year mainly because they didn't play many non-conference games and that's typically where I learn about the mid-majors. Anyways, if you force me to pick a team, I will go with 1-seed UMBC as the 1-seed has won 4 of the last 5 America East conference tournaments played. As for my rooting interest for this league, I will be pulling for a Vermont-UMBC final so we get a quality team in the Big Dance either way. Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square